Tukbokki and Starbucks Planner

Finally!!! I already got my Starbucks Planner. Well, I was supposed to get the black one but they don’t have stock so I just took the blue one. It’s not that bad and I’m not complaining. 😀 😀 😀

dsc01036

 

I bought some Korean stuff today, like Korean Chili Paste, Korean Chili Powder, Seaweed, Rice Cake, and Fish Cake. I was planning to make an all out Korean feast today but too bad, I couldn’t find any Yellow Raddish and Chinese Cabbage in the nearby grocery. (I should’ve entrered Fuji Mart earlier, I know they have some Yellow Raddish around). 

I was supposed to make, Gimbap, Kimchi and Tukbokki. But in the end, I only made Tukbokki since the I have all the ingredients needed.

Moving on, I’ve seen the dish being eaten on the streets (courtesy of the Korean Drama — Princess Hours). I became intrigued, so I searched the net back then. Eager to eat some Korean food today, I went back to the site I found months ago,  unfortunately, when I read it last night, the recipe is crappy so I searched  for a new one. And I found another one again! Whee. My brother and sisters were complaining what to eat earlier so I made it for our snack. I still have some leftovers for dinner. 🙂 I love spicy food!!!!

 

dsc01031

And here’s my judgement — It’s pretty good. It has sweet and spicy taste. The chewiness and the crunchiness of the rice cake and carrots compliment each other plus the salty fish cake makes it perfect. Whee. I love it. My brother doesn’t eat Korean food that much, ate a lot. 🙂 🙂 🙂 

 

According to Wikipedia — Tukbokki or Tteokbokki:

Tteokbokki is a popular Korean snack food which is commonly purchased from street vendors or Pojangmacha. Originally it was called tteokjjim (떡찜), and was a broiled dish of sliced rice cake, meat, eggs, and seasoning. Tteok jjim an early variant of modern tteokbokki, was once a part of Korean royal court cuisine. This type of tteokbokki was made by broiling tteok, meat, vegetables, eggs, and seasonings in water, and then serving it topped with ginkgo nuts and walnuts. In its original form, tteokbokki, which was then known as gungjung tteokbokki, was a dish served in the royal court and regarded as a representative example of haute cuisine. The original tteokbokki was a stir-fried dish consisting of garaetteok (가래떡, cylinder-shaped tteok) combined with a variety of ingredients, such as beef, mung bean sprouts, parsley,shiitake mushrooms, carrots, and onions, and seasoned with soy sauce.

 

Tukbokki is one of Korea’s popular snacks that are loved by teenagers as well as adults. It is made from garaetuk, a chewy long cylindrical rice pasta (or “rice cake”) that is cut into many pieces and cooked with various ingredients. It is a stir-fry dish which is cooked with kochujang (hot chili pepper paste) along with garaetuk, seasoned beef, fish cakes and assorted vegetables such as green onions, carrots and onions.

A spicy version of tukbokki is very popular but less spicy ones can be also requested to meet everyone’s taste buds. In Korea, this snack is commonly purchased from street vendors much like hotdog vendors in New York City. However, it can be found in Korean fast food venues as well as some restaurants outside of Korea.

(from: http://www.trifood.com/tukbokki.html)

One thought on “Tukbokki and Starbucks Planner

  1. Pingback: Mr. Kimbob « Mint Chocolate Chip ^o^

Leave a Reply

