Muffins, Sans Rival, Apple Cake Tatin

I’m glad that I’m back! Haha. I’ve been lazy to post something here the past month, I’m just not in the mood to update. ๐Ÿ™‚ So here’s the list of what I’ve been baking: Banana Crunch Muffins, Blueberry Muffins, Apple Cake Tatin and Sans Rival.

ย 

dsc01115Banana Crunch Muffins

Banana Crunch Muffins –ย If you love to watch Lifestyle Network/Food Network (depends on what country you live in). Then you should be familiar with the showย Barefoot Contessa and its host, Ina Garten. I love watching this show, she really makes good stuff, I’ve tried some of her recipes, like Pan-fried Onion Dip which is simply heavenly. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, I also got this recipe from her (you can get her recipes in the Food Network website), it looked so good so I decided to try and make some. ๐Ÿ˜€ After cooling the muffins, I decided to taste one, and my critic? It’s good, the crunch from the Banana Chips on top plus the creaminess of the mashed bananas and the coconut shreds that is in the muffins really makes you fly on top of the world! I’m not saying this because I’m the one who made it but it’s really good and healthy too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I simply loved it, just eat one for breakfast and you’d be full. It’s heavy but it is insanely good.:)

ย 

dsc01146Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins – My mom asked me to make this after she tasted the Banana Crunch Muffins. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I decided to look around the world wide web and get at least one satisfying, yet effective recipe that I can follow. (Believe me, some recipes found in the net are hocus pocus. They’re sometimes have excess sugar or some recipes doesn’t sound right. I’m not fond of too sweet pastries so I tend to lessen the sugar and my mom being known as a perfectionist, you shouldn’t make mistakes or you’d get the hell out of it! This is my life trust me. :D) So we went to this Costco-type of store where my mom usually buys our food (meat, chicken, etc.) I saw a pack of wild blueberries so I told my mom to buy one and I’ll make blueberry muffins for her. She agreed and we bought a pack. I love blueberries simply because you can’t really find them fresh in humid countries, and I love them because of their color and taste. ๐Ÿ™‚ This muffin out of the two is my personal favorite because it simply stands out, its yummy and tasty yet not too sweet. The sweetness basically came from the blueberries and not from the sugar (remember: I lessened the sugar), the sour cream makes them balanced (Tartiness + Sweetness = perfection). So there. ๐Ÿ˜€

ย 

dsc01122Apple Cake Tatin

Apple Cake Tatin – I got this recipe again from Barefoot Contessa.ย My mom one time watched with us and told me it looks good so she told me to make one. Being a good daughter, I made it haha. ๐Ÿ˜› I didn’t like it that much though, it’s too sweet. The caramel on top makes it sweeter then add the sugars that came from the apples. This cake is like Pineapple upside down cake, instead of pineapple we used apple. Maybe I need to try and find my Pineapple upside down cake recipe I got from college…. ho hum ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

dsc01160Sans Rival

Sans Rival – This is my dad’s favorite cake of all time. ๐Ÿ™‚ I decided to try and make one a week ago since I’m bored again! Lol. I got this one in the net again (what’s new -_-). My mom tasted it and told me it’s not too sweet (I lessened the amount of sugar in the buttercream), it’s just right. Sans Rival (pronounced asย Song Rivoย — something like that) is made out of meringue that is baked all through out (unlike the pavlova, this one is crunchy both inside and outside) then layered with french buttercream and topped with toasted nuts. (You can use any nuts: cashews, pecans, hazelnuts, etc. I recommend hazelnuts, the smell is wonderful and it matches the cake perfectly but any nut will do. Hazelnuts are expensive but I think it is worth it.) You may think this is easy but in reality it’s like hell when you live in a humid country and there’s no a/c in the kitchen. You need to act fast! Lol! ๐Ÿ˜€

Sad to say, my oven broke down. I wish someone will come here and fix it for me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Stupid, stupid oven >.<.

Leave a Reply

