Dinosaur themed Carrot Cake


Dinosaur themed Carrot Cake with Buttercream Frosting

 

I haven’t been able to make customized cakes every since I graduated baking school. So I took one client’s request to make it. She wanted a simple, not so elaborate dinosaur themed cake, she even took the time to scan the invitation and send it to me. So I did some research and followed the design of the invitation.

The invitation is composed of outlined dinosaurs. So I did some research and took some T-Rex, Triceratops, Brontosaurus, Pteradactyl and a Palm tree.

I’m not perfect in making the icing smooth but I’m getting there. LOL. I just need more practice. Actually I did another cake last week and I think I’m getting the hang of it.

I’m happy with the results of this cake, it was the exact thing that I have envisioned in my mind. It was pretty simple but really attractive at the same time.

A lot of people are asking why am I not doing fondant cakes? I know how to do them it’s just that I have to tweak my fondant recipe according to my liking and then sell it out online. It’s hard to do some kitchen testing while your making orders so as far as I’m concerned I want to do it one step at a time.

I only have one mixer, a medium sized oven and a really small space to work with, so it’s really hard to move around. šŸ˜¦

But I won’t stick myself to fondant. I think it’s too generic since everyone is making them. šŸ™‚ But what the customer wants the customer gets. šŸ™‚

Side view

Before I placed the icing toppers on the cake, it was really plain. It’s like dead. Haha. See the picture below:

 

But I’m glad my customer liked them. They even told me that they didn’t want to touch it at first. šŸ™‚ She’s a really nice lady too. She ordered a lot of cupcakes from me last Christmas. Lots meaning 10 boxes of 12’s and 14 of 6’s I think then added some more after Christmas. Her husband even met me when I met up with them for this cake. Haha. šŸ™‚ We even chatted for a while. Asking some stuff about some dude who’s harassing a lot of online sellers (including me).

Leave a Reply

