Silver Wedding Anniversary Cake

Silver Wedding Cake (Chocolate Butter Cake with Buttercream Frosting)

My dad’s best friend is going to celebrate his 27th wedding year anniversary with a bang. They’re gonna get married again and will have a grand reception tomorrow. I was debating if I’ll make a human topper or a teddy bear one, I decided to make the bears since I find them cute. Haha. It turned out great right? 🙂

So my dad bought most of the ingredients. Since it’s a silver wedding anniversary, I wanted most of my decors in silver. I did my research and found out that there’s no such thing as silver food coloring. At first, I was wary since I didn’t want to be simply gray and white. I remembered that I can use luster dust. They have silver so I decided to look for it around Manila. It was pretty expensive but with a little powder and lemon extract goes a long way.

I found out just last night that their motif is burgundy and silver, if I knew it earlier I would’ve made the bears and the roses burgundy and gray color them. But then silver and blue perfectly fit together. As long as there’s a silver-y anniversary theme I guess I’m all good. 🙂

I really had fun painting them. Just look at the cake. Hehe. In the end, it turned out well. 🙂 Aside from lemon extract, you can use vodka, or other extracts that has alcohol in it, I think you can also use lemon juice. :p Since I have lemon extract at home, I decided to use them. I had so much fun making this cake. I hope my dad will be happy when he sees this and I hope his best friend and wife will be delighted as well.

Happy 27th Uncle Johnny and Auntie Sally. 🙂

Oh, I think I’m gonna do some hands-on baking session. I might, it’s extra income and I need it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

