Gingerbread Cookies

Gingerbread Man/Girl

I’m always curious when it comes to pastry. As much as possible, if ingredients are available and I can afford them, I’d try to make them at home.

Gingerbread cookies is one of the most popular cookies this coming Christmas Season. These cookies were usually given as gifts during the holidays. The most popular gingerbread cookies are the Gingerbread Man Cookies as seen on top. I tasted these cookies it’s not sweet I think the sweetness will come from the decorations, and the spices are not overpowering. It’s perfect for people who doesn’t like sweets so much.

The usual spices that are added on the cookie dough are cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ground ginger. But you can substitute allspice as well according to some recipes.

Before Icing the Gingerbread Cookies

Molasses are added to the dough to add color and texture. These cookies are crunchy as opposed to my vanilla and chocolate sugar cookies which are somewhat soft on the inside.

Christmas Bell and Stockings

I managed to buy the 101 cookie cutters which consists of halloween, christmas, etc. So I managed to make these Christmas cutters. Although I’m still looking for the reindeer, mittens, santa hat, snowflake and santa head cookie cutters which is kind of impossible since the suppliers here in my country aren’t buying all wilton products, only selected ones so it’s kind of sad. 😦

Christmas Tree and Candy Canes

Snowman

It’s exactly 100 days left before Christmas. Are you guys excited? 🙂 For my next entry, I’ll probably post some Party theme cookies and maybe other cookie shapes that’s included in the cookie cutters I’ve bought.