Singapore – Indonesia Trip Last Part

Salt and Pepper Shrimp

I’m going to merge my last day in Pekanbaru, and two days staying in Singapore. This trip consists of nine days that’s why it took really a long time. And I apologize for being idle, been busy for the past few weeks.

So my best friend and her family went out for lunch on the slum part of their city, the ride took about half an hour to get there by car. The restaurant’s name was Mbak Cuih.

Technically, it’s like the Philippines’ turo-turo (small eateries)I was not surprised and was eager to eat in this kind of environment. I’m used to eat on small eateries during my college days and I can’t wait to try the Indonesian way. Haha.

The place was made of wood, as well as the small makeshift bridge, it was scary to walk on since there’s only a one-sided railings but it was pretty much sturdy.

Crackers with Chili Sauce

The food was pretty much the same with the restaurants I’ve been to during my stay, but this one is much tastier and has a more homemade feel.

Sambal

I love Sambal, it’s really good for dipping and when mixed with a hot plate of rice. I saw my best friend’s maid do this from scratch in their house. They have to sit on the floor and use a mortar and pestle like utensil and and grind the chilies until the oil comes out and then they add some fish sauce, and other ingredients in the chili mix.

Cerise Cake

After lunch we headed back to the city proper, then my best friend, her younger sister, sofia and I went to the mall, I bought some little keychain and stuff for souvenirs (and they gave me this bag made of Batik, really nice). After that, we saw this cake shop, we decided to try it and check their pastries out.

Banana Cake with Chocolate Ganache Frosting

We tried the cake pictured above and it was dry, since they were still selling it even it was two days old. It was dry, it stuck on my throat. We keep on commenting it in english, but I think the waitresses noticed that we aren’t satisfied with their two day old cake. They should’ve just you know sell it two days before at a discounted price.

And they have this menu full of pictures, when we tried to order a Mango Mousse they told us they’re not available. I was kind of disappointed since I was expecting they have everything on their menu. But It was like,  what the hell are they talking about.

Strawberry Shortcake

They didn’t want to slice the strawberry shortcake at first, but I think hearing our comments they decided to slice it and give it to us. This was much better, they are fresh and I like the strawberries.

All in all it was not satisfying, their fridges are empty, and they have around 4 or 5 of them. The interiors are so-so, they could’ve made it better if they have more on display. No wonder people don’t go in and eat or buy in their shop.

Krecek Tahu

At dinner, my best friend, her husband, sofia, and I ate at Bumbu Desa. The interiors are pretty nice but the food was so-so, I liked Koki Sunda better. Here are some of the photos I took:

The next day was my flight back to Singapore, I had an 7:45 am flight but it was delayed to 9 am due to the fog     that caused the delay of the flight of most airlines. My best friend’s family gave me their key to their condo unit and a bus pass so that I can go whenever I want when I got back in Singapore, since I have to stay for a day before going back to Manila. I asked my best friend’s sister to give me the bus numbers of the places where I can go around and shop.

I arrived in Singapore around 11 am, I left my stuff in their condo and chose which place I’d go to. I decided to go to Orchard Road since that’s the place where my family usually stays whenever we go to Singapore. It took about an hour from the condo and when I arrived in the place I was really hungry.

I felt really lost though, since it was not the same as before, it has been ten years already, and there are more shopping malls than there was before. Thank God I saw some familiar shopping malls and that’s where I started. I remember Lucky Plaza since that’s where we used to eat lunch where they sell really cheap foods.

Hainanese Chicken Rice

I would definitely not pass the ever famous Hainanese Chicken Rice, so that’s what I chose for lunch and I was pretty satisfied. If my memory serves me right, it costs around SGD$3.00 – SGD$5.00.

Sidewalk Ice Cream Sandwich

One of my favorite things in Singapore is eating ice cream on the sidewalk. Whenever I visit Singapore, I always eat their sidewalk ice cream all the time. I was so happy when I found two selling them. I purposely didn’t buy a drink so that I have a space for this dessert. So I went to one vendor and was ecstatic to see Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream (my favorite) is on the menu, I ordered one.

It was pretty amazing that the price never changed, it’s still SGD$1.00. I was really giddy, when I come back in Singapore again, I’ll definitely have more of this.

For my dinner, I bought McDonalds, I tried their Beef teriyaki sandwich and it was a waste of money. Too salty for my liking, I didn’t take a picture since it wasn’t even attractive at all.

Minced meat dry Noodles with Fried Dumplings

So my best friend’s brother (who’s working in Singapore) told me that there’s a nearby food stalls that’s just a few minutes away from their condo. It only took me around 5 to 10 minutes to arrive there. I ate noodles for both my breakfast and lunch. I decided not to go to another mall and just stay in the condo before going back to the airport to catch my flight.

The noodles above was pretty bland, and I didn’t like it. Then I looked around to find another noodle shop and bought lunch and headed back home.

Noodles with Roasted Chicken and Vegetables

I liked the noodles I bought in another different stall better, it was a lot compared to the first one and more tastier. I also bought the green tea (Heaven and Earth’s Jasmine Green Tea) for my drink.

I spend my last hour in Singapore in their condo (their internet is really fast) before heading back to the airport.

I had fun on this trip. It was my third time leaving my country without any family member and my first time to go literally alone just to meet my best friend.

I also had a great time riding the bus alone in Singapore walking alone the streets and having fun by myself. It was really stress free, I should do this once in a while.

I can’t wait to go back again, in November, where I’ll stay longer since I’m going to do the wedding cake of my best friend’s older brother.

Cerise Cake is located at Jl. Riau No.131 C, Pekanbaru, Riau, Indonesia.

Bumbu Desa Jl. Jend. Sudirman, Pekanbaru, Riau, Indonesia.

2 thoughts on “Singapore – Indonesia Trip Last Part

Leave a Reply

