Babies, Pucca and Dora

Baby theme Fondant Cake

My client specifically chose this design for her baby shower a few weeks ago. I find it really cute, it was kind of tough to handle fondant especially with the kind of weather we are having recently. But thank God I was able to finish this project well and got a great feedback.

Together with this fondant cake. My client also ordered cupcakes:

Chocolate Cupcakes with Fondant (Baby theme)

Β The second picture looked like emoticons! πŸ™‚ These cupcakes were placed in an individual cupcake boxes.

I also made another Pucca cake together with her boyfriend Garu. πŸ™‚ Β Also, a Dora the Explorer cake, I’m not a fan of Dora but what can I do? Kids love them. πŸ˜›

Pucca and Garu Fondant Cake

Dora the Explorer Fondant Cake

I did backpack just to add an element in the Dora cake, while in the Pucca and Garu, I tried my snowflake plunger.

Since it is already the wet season here in the Philippines, you’ll get a lot of stress not only rolling the fondant, but also draping them. I had to use powdered sugar, instead of using shortening when rolling the fondant so that it won’t get stretched too much.

Aside from the fondant, the royal icing (for Sugar Cookies) is another factor, during wet season, the icing sugar gets a hard time to harden. You have to place it in an air conditioned room in order to dry properly. If you leave it in a room temperature room. Chances are the icing won’t dry quickly and it’s texture instead of being smooth will be somewhat grainy. This is based from my experience. During summer months, I usually leave it on room temperature, but try to avoid it basking in the sunlight too much for a really long time, it tends to lose the color of the icing (gets lighter).

Together with these cake orders are the sugar cookies:

Pucca and Garu Sugar Cookies

Dora the Explorer and Backpack Fondant Cake

This coming week I’ll be doing a marine themed cupcakes. I already did some of the toppers. πŸ™‚ Will try to post them next week! πŸ™‚