The Peppermint Series

DSC_2915Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes with Peppermint Buttercream Frosting

How’s your Christmas everyone? Mine went well, how about yours?

I apologize for the late post! ๐Ÿ™‚ I was supposed to blog this weeks ago but I got tons of things to do (it’s December after all).

I’ve been planning to release peppermint related pastries since last year, and decided it would be best to add them on my menu this holiday season.

I love the smell of peppermint, especially after baking, the aroma spreads around the kitchen, and you’d have the Christmas vibe.

Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes with Peppermint Buttercream Frosting – I added a few drops of peppermint extract on my traditional chocolate cupcakes and voila. The swirls on the the peppermint buttercream frosting are so cool, I saw it on the web and tried it myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_3001Peppermint Brownies

My sister loved Starbucks’ Peppermint Brownies, so I decided to test one using my brownie recipe. Then I piped it with leftover peppermint buttercream frosting, sprinkled Christmas Tree sprinkles and silver dragees.

DSC_3082Peppermint Bark Cheesecake

I wasn’t able to take photos of the Peppermint Bark but it consists ofย  Bittersweet Chocolate, White Chocolate and crushed Starlight Peppermint Candies. Once the chocolates have set, I’ve cut it in small bite sized pieces. I’ve added the bark in the Cheesecake before baking, so once you’ve bite into this cheesecake, there’s small pieces of chocolate in there.

Chocolate bark usually consists of melted chocolate, nuts, crushed caramel candy, rice krispies, etc. Barks are usually made when there are leftover chocolate,nuts, etc. then coat them with the chocolate of your choice, spread them on a sheetpan with wax paper on and let them set. (Since it’s humid and hot here in the Philippines, I always place them in the fridge, it’ll help the chocolate set faster)

Happy Holidays everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s only a few days left before 2013 starts. Cheers to us! ๐Ÿ™‚