Hello Kitty!

DSC_47542-tier Hello Kitty Fondant Cake

Happy New Year! 🙂

It seems the Hello Kitty craze is coming back again. I’ve seen tons of new Hello Kitty items in toy stores recently. And just last week, I finished an order with Hello Kitty as it’s theme.

I’ve been a fan of Sanrio characters ever since. Back when I was a kid, I’ve been a fan of Hello Kitty, then later, Kerokeroppi. During my teen years, I found Pochacco cute and then when I was in the States, I’ve became a huge fan of Cinnamoroll.

People might think, making a Fondant figurine of Hello Kitty is easy, well, you’re wrong. You have to have the correct accuracy where to put her eyes and nose and the whiskers! Otherwise, you’d end up making the fake looking Hello Kitty you always see on a cheap store.

DSC_4765Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes with Pepperming Frosting

You also need to consider the right shape of the head, the body, etc. There are some tutorials over the net that you can check to make them, but you also really have to be observant when it comes to details.

DSC_4766Hello Kitty toppers placed on top of the cupcakes

For the cupcakes, the client wanted the frosting to be in pink and purple color. Unlike the usual red or green color I put on my peppermint frosting. She also wanted the swirling effect as you can see on the photo above.

The Hello Kitty on the cupcakes are made out of fondant as well, I have a mini Hello Kitty cutter to cut it and did the details bit by bit. It’s convenient to have cutters really, that’s why I’ve collecting them bit by bit. I have over 300+ cookie cutters, but fondant cutters? I only have a few, so I try to buy little by little. Or unless the decor is necessary, I would buy them immediately.

The cake was all edible by the way, the client wanted it all edible. The cake is made out of Chocolate Butter Cake frosted with Italian Buttercream Frosting.

Leave a Reply

